Sue Hyman Associates logo

NYMT in concert with Matt Lucas & Friends

Vaudeville Theatre, 404 Strand, London, WC2R 0NH. Box office 0844 482 9675

Tube: Charing Cross (Northern, Bakerloo) Embankment (District, Circle),
Buses: 1, 4 , 6, 9, 11, 13 , 15, 68, 76, 171, 176, 188

This special Gala in aid of the National Youth Music Theatre will be at the Vaudeville Theatre on Sunday 22 April at 7.30pm. Proceeds from this concert will support the NYMT Bursary Scheme.

"I had the time of my life in the NYMT. I learned a great deal as a person and as a performer." MATT LUCAS

Alumni confirmed to appear include Lara Pulver, Amy Nuttall, Dominic Tighe, Gina Beck, Ian Virgo, Stuart Matthew Price, and Mike Jibson.

The Directors are Sarah Redmond, Matt Hawksworth and Jeremy James Taylor with choreography by Drew McOnie and Cristian Valle. The musical directors are Francis Goodhand, Torquil Munro and John Pearson. It is produced by Jeremy Walker.

The patrons of the NYMT are Jude Law, NYMT Company member 1987 – 1990, Tom Chambers 1995 – 97, Amy Nuttall 1994 – 96 and Sheridan Smith 1994 – 2000. His Royal Highness The Earl of Wessex KG, GCVO has been President of the NYMT since 1986.

Matt Lucas’ new panel show ‘The Matt Lucas Awards’ – based on his hit Radio 2 show ‘And The Winner Is...’ will air on BBC 1 from April 2012.

It is the first commission for John Stanley Productions – which Matt founded in 2011.

Matt Lucas has been a loyal supporter of the NYMT, having joined the NYMT company in 1987.

He performed with NYMT at the Edinburgh Festival in THE ROMAN INVASION OF RAMSBOTTOM in 1987 playing a character called Accrington Stanley. Jeremy James Taylor says, "He played the pub comic and was already hilariously funny and outrageous. You just watched that career – you didn’t quite know where it was going.”

Other alumni include Jonny Lee Miller, Ben Barnes, Charles Edwards, Sally Hawkins, Akiya Henry, Hannah Spearritt,, Tom Hollander, Idris Elba, Peter Darling and Matthew Bourne choreographers.

The National Youth Music Theatre was founded in 1976 by Jeremy James Taylor.

Future NYMT events

‘The Dreaming’ by Howard Goodall and Charles Hart: Mon 16 – Sun 22 July 2012, The Rose Theatre, Kingston. Based on A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ this was originally performed at the Linbury Studio Royal Opera House in December 2001/January 2002. It will be directed by Jeremy James Taylor OBE, musical director is John Pearson, Joanna Cichonska is the Assistant Musical Director, choreography by Katie Beard with assistant Philippa Johnson. Lighting will be by Richard House and sound by Charles Simpson.

‘Songs For A New World’ by Jason Robert Brown : Tues 31 July – Sat 4 Aug 2012, Bridewell Theatre EC4 Y8EQ It will be directed by Sarah Redmond, musical director is Francis Goodhand, with assistant musical director Benjamin Holder. Cristian Valle is the choreographer, Douglas Green is the lighting designer with sound by Charles Simpson. The design is open to a student competition.

‘13’ by Jason Robert Brown: Wed 22 –Sat 25 Aug 2012, Apollo Theatre Shaftesbury

Avenue W1. It will be directed by Jason Robert Brown. The musical director is Torquil Munro with assistant musical director Tom Brady. The choreography is by Drew McOnie with design by Richard Kent and lighting by David Plater and sound by Autograph.

Jason Robert Brown Gala Concert – Sun 26 Aug, Apollo Theatre, Shaftesbury Avenue W1

Sunday 22 April at 7.30pm, Running Time: approx 1hr 45mins

Tickets: £15.00 - £30.00 Premium Seats with Champagne Reception £60
£1 booking fee and restoration levy.

29 March 2012